List of Government Banks in India

Banks are the financial centers that keep your money safe from all the threats of the society. Apart from that, people get interest through banks on their savings. Each and every bank in India facilitates lots of features through which they secure the financial life of the individual. Further, they provide loan so that people could buy land, home, and vehicle etc… for their comfortable survival.

The capital and economic condition of any country is measured by the performance of the banks and there are so many people who keen to invest only in government banks.

SEE ALSO:: Banking Exam Preparation Tips

Initially there were 21 banks in India in government zone, and recently 2 of them are merged in Bank of Baroda. If you are also in one of them, who always prefer to invest in the government banks then below mentioned is the list of those.

Government Banks in India Are:

1. Allahabad Bank* – Founded In 24 April 1865

Allahabad Bank

2. Andhra Bank* – Founded In 28 November 1923

Andhra Bank

3. Bank of Baroda – Founded In 20 July 1908

Bank of Baroda

4. Bank of India – Founded In 7 September 1906

Bank of India

5. Bank of Maharashtra – Founded In 16 September 1935

Bank of Maharashtra

6. Canara Bank* – Founded In 1 July 1906

Canara Bank

7. Central Bank of India – Founded In 21 December 1911

Central Bank of India

8. Corporation Bank* – Founded In 12 March 1906

Corporation Bank

9. Indian Bank* – Founded In 15 August 1907

Indian Bank

10. Indian Overseas Bank – Founded In 10 February 1937

Indian Overseas Bank

11. Oriental Bank of Commerce* – Founded In 19 February 1943

Oriental Bank of Commerce

12. Punjab and Sind Bank – Founded In 24 June 1908

Punjab and Sind Bank

13. Punjab National Bank* – Founded In 19 May 1894

Punjab National Bank

14. State Bank of India – Founded In 1 July 1955

State Bank of India

15. Syndicate Bank* – Founded In 1925

Syndicate Bank

16. Uco Bank – Founded In 6 January 1943

Uco Bank

17. Union Bank of India* – Founded In 11 November 1919

Union Bank of India

18. United Bank of India* – Founded In 1950

United Bank of India